Internships and Networking are Vital!

Currently, I am a senior at Syracuse University, which is surreal! In May I will receive my Bachelor of Science in Communication and Rhetorical Studies, with an Entrepreneurship and Emerging Enterprises minor.  And, of course the best part about being a senior is getting asked the million dollar question, “what are you going to do after college?”

At the moment, I don’t know. I feel pressure to have to choose a career and do something as soon as I graduate college. My problem is the reverse post-grad predicament: I have too many options! In terms of careers, I’ve been offered opportunities in the public relations field, publishing field, entertainment industry, fashion industry and education field. I have so many interests and ambitions that I don’t know where to start. My concern is not finding a job, but rather finding a niche. Of course, there is pressure “to know.” But, I don’t know, and I’m fine with that. I’m not going to allow the pressure from everyone else’s stress to lock me into a position where I won’t find satisfaction.

This brings me to my fall semester. I decided to go about my senior year in an unconventional way. See, I learned the ways of the Syracuse University system and was able to build my own fall program. I knew that I didn’t have all the experience that I needed in the work-field, and that I wanted to explore career options and network. What better place to network than New York City. So, I followed my heart and decided to extend my stay in New York City.

I decided to take online courses through Syracuse University, and apply for internships, which allow me to receive academic credit towards my degree. I was offered an intern position at SELF Magazine, Lucky Magazine, Marc Fisher Footwear, Kara Ross NY and more, and decided that the best fit for me was Scholastic and a start-up company (in conjunction with Facebook). At the moment I am in love with my internships and I feel like these opportunities will definitely open doors for me in the future. I’m not the type of person that likes to conform and I believe that at the end of the day you should do what makes you happy, not what satisfy other people.

Aside from doing my amazing internships, and taking classes, I was featured in Seventeen Magazine and I got offered a writing position at Love Twenty Magazine. I’m just exploring my options and avoiding keeping all of my eggs in one basket. I’m not going to lie and say that it has been easy, but it has definitely been worth it. I was able to explore different career fields, discover what I like and do not like and I’m meeting wonderful people. Internships are important, and there are opportunities that are offered on campus at Syracuse. There are summer, spring, fall, and winter positions and you don’t have to leave campus to get a good internship. I wanted to be in New York City because it is where my family and friends live and there are more opportunities for people in the communications field.

I’m going to end with this. A lot of the times, while in school, we get distracted with petty drama and non-sense, I think that freshmen year that is inevitable. But, as you mature and start thinking about your career (and understand that a degree is not enough in this economy), you should focus your energy on networking rather than gossiping. Learn from people, rather than judge them, as they say, “be careful who you step on going up the ladder, because you will meet them on the way down.”

By Glorelys Mora-Liz

Leave a Reply

