What time is it?

If you haven’t noticed, it’s an hour earlier than it was a few days ago. And it’s all because of daylight savings. I have never understood it and for some reason I have always disliked it. I guess it’s because it has always been a problem in my life. What problems can something so simple as changing my clock bring to my life? Well, let’s go back to when I lived in Puerto Rico. Normally, we are in the same time zone as the East Coast, but over there daylight savings is ignored which means that for a few months of the year, it’s an hour later than in the States.
 
Why did it bother me so much? Well, first of all, you obviously get confused. The worst was when I hurried to be on time for my favorite shows, but no, they didn’t come on. I was an hour early. Even worse, my favorite shows tended to be at 10 p.m., which meant that during daylight savings  time they were at 11 p.m. This might not seem as bad now since in college I have a crazy schedule, but back when I was in High School I had to get up a 6 a.m. in the morning every day—I still don’t know how I did that for so many years!  The truth is you don’t know what a difference can an hour make until you are put in such a situation. It sucked.
 
And now it still sucks. Although I get to watch the shows at the same time as always, the sun goes down way too early. There is nothing worse than getting out of class and seeing it’s already dark as if it were 9 p.m.! It’s not only depressing, but it also makes me more stressed. I keep thinking, “Oh god, it’s already nightfall and I haven’t even started studying.” I know it’s all in my head, but it bothers me every winter. I just can’t help it! 
By Cristina Nadal
Leave a Reply

